Some people say that the Internet is responsible for destroying social skills of teenagers and young adults. Why do you think the Internet is seen as dangerous in this way and what can we do to ensure that it does not harm the social development of teenagers and young adults?

Certain individuals voice concerns over the internet's destruction of teens and youthful populations' sociality. This essay discusses why this is the case and what can be done to ensure that the said groups remain socially active while using the internet. First and foremost, the online presence of younger persons triggers them to reduce their interaction with other people physically present with them and to be comfortable leading sedentary lifestyles. They are always glued to their screens and making more giggles at what they are observing virtually compared to people seated next to them. Secondly, some prefer to attend to their virtual communities first before attending to pressing matters in their real lives but what is most depressing is that a majority end up less and less worried about the outside world and comfortable living lonely virtual lives. For example, a survey once found that many American teenagers had friends that they communicated with in faraway places but did not have any associates in their neighbourhoods and they found this scenario to be normal. To resolve this conundrum, it is important for adults to monitor and regulate the social behaviours of kids like limiting the times they spend on their phones and creating family times such as outings, park days and shared meals. Also, these youth must be educated on the importance of social skills and socialisation as a whole. This role must be executed by the family, schools and community at large. For instance, the internet must be awash with information, games, and programs that teach these values and principles so that children are convinced and motivated to spend more time interacting in physical spaces than online. In summary, therefore, the social skills of teens and young adults are heavily decimated by their online presence because it consumes much of their time until they see this abnormality as natural. To eradicate this problem, this essay has suggested that several socialising institutions like the family must actively monitor and regulate their actions and educate them on acceptable behaviour. These issues have been discussed in the essay above.