Some people believe that schools should teach foreign languages for primary children. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Given that the global lifestyle and culture have undergone radical changes over the last century, acquiring interpersonal and intrapersonal skills such as a new language has assumed importance among people. Such skills are beneficial to be learned at young ages, in particular through schools, as children are more capable of learning. However, a question remains to be asked whether all the aspects of this course of action are negative or positive. Let's start by considering the positive points of formal teaching of a second language. The primary benefit is rooted in the communication abilities that can be gained by children. This skill could create an atmosphere in which, for example, the foreign students in an international school can make friends nonchalantly and relish the interaction with their counterparts. On the other hand, Having learnt other languages, learners would guarantee their career and education prosperity, especially in international contexts. Last but not least, they will be equipped with such a powerful tool to learn more about other nations and seek opportunities abroad. Turning to the other side of the issue, there would be a few disadvantages in this matter. Admittedly, some pupils seem to find the acquisition of a foreign tongue hard, as they deal with a great deal of homework and a demanding school schedule daily. The students, for instance, facing problems regarding learning the grammar and the literature of their mother tongue, would struggle understanding the structure of a new language at the same time. To sum up, I hold the view that primary learners can reap the benefit of such a powerful tool to interact with their peers from other cultures, and establish new relationships, which definitely outweigh the drawbacks. In addition, the schools and the education system should adopt a critical role to materialize this need.