Advantages and Disadvantages of Showing Criminal Trials on Television

Showing criminal trials on television is popular in many countries. Even though these programs could show the people how justice is served in their society, the public pressure may force the court to reach a verdict that is not according to the law and its due processes. In my opinion, the disadvantages of showing trials on television outweigh its advantages. The judiciary system has always been one of the greatest inventions of human beings to keep societies safe and to establish some levels of justice. Watching how these courts operate and reach a verdict, people can make sure some degree of justice is served in their communities, and there is order in a society. Moreover, the citizens could become aware of the fact that crime does not pay and that everyone is the same before the law. If such trials are broadcast bereft of any biases the societies could prosper and a lot of negative consequences can be avoided. For instance, televising trials about the corruption of officials reinforce public trust in The Establishments as well as serve as a deterrent so that corruption could be mitigated. That said, the challenge of broadcasting courts to the public is that in some morally sensitive cases, not only may the public become offended but also get the impression that the court procedure is not ethical, and the courts will be confronted with tremendous public criticisms. For example, in the recent cases of the police officers shooting down a black man, the protest in multiple cities put the court under pressure to ignore its due processes which ultimately led to a verdict in line with the public opinion. Furthermore, it is said that one is innocent unless proven guilty and because of such broadcasts the defendant could be dubbed as someone who is not to be trusted; thus, such programs should be approached with the utmost care. To recapitulate, broadcasting the criminal trials on public television can show the citizens that law and order prevail in society. Still, if at the outset of the trial the public believes that the defendant is guilty of a major crime, the court might be confronted with a lot of pressure and reach a verdict that is not in the interest of justice. All in all, I believe the disadvantages of showing criminal trials on television are by far more than its advantages.