Both governments and individuals are spending vast amounts of money protecting animals and their habitat. This money could be better spent dealing with fundamental issues in society such as poverty and health care.To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, people have been donating much of their money to nonprofit associations to save animals and their abode. Of course, opinions on the subject may be diverging, thus while some believe that using money to help solve primary social problems is noble, others do not totally agree. Personally, I believe that it would be better for people to be able to balance the two matters. First, when analyzing the impact of animal exploitation on a country’s economy, we immediately get to know that it represents one of the main sources of income throughout the world. Of course, such exploitation should be done respecting laws and norms, which means protecting animals and their habitat. Because of this, many nations have been improving their fishing techniques to provide for a higher seafood quality, consequently characterized by higher prices. Japan represents the perfect example, being its seafood prices some of the highest in the world market, because of their modern techniques and detailed policies in regenerative resources. On the other hand, the issue of animal exploitation is to be analyzed together with that of human health. In biosciences, humans and animals are closely related factors in the food chain and any change apported to one of them will affect the other. It has been proven that improving health care is not possible if animals and their habitat are not correctly protected, because people cannot survive in an unbalanced environment. To prove this, a recent FAO study, reported that over three billion people in the world have need fish’s protein to survive. In conclusion, I believe that instead of concentrating on government spending, new income opportunities should be provided. Only once people will be able to earn their money, they will decide to take part in the process of life and health improvement.