Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Travelling to work in some areas is a really hectic and time-consuming task that the workers have to involve on a daily basis. One solution is suggested to ease this problem is to erect parks and gardens nearby the city centre to make space for apartment buildings. In my view, this suggestion is not feasible and may lead to more stress in the workplace and the detriment of air quality.  It is undeniable that greenery is not only for the urban aesthetic but also for stress relief at the office. Recent surveys conducted in five cosmopolitan cities worldwide have pointed out that individuals who work in a greener area suffer less from mental illness than their counterparts surrounded by fewer green spaces. Many flowers and some trees are well-known for their therapeutic ability namely eucalyptus, roses, lavenders owing to their oil aroma. In Japan, some companies even provide walk-in gardens and small forests nearby in the support of stress relief among their staff. People also show a higher performances rate after a short break walking in the park. Another issue of replacing green space with apartments is that it could result in lower air quality. Trees are essential natural air purifiers, which absorb carbon dioxin and release oxygen. Without them, the atmosphere quality in the city centre would deteriorate significantly and may have negative effects on the citizens' health, as well. This can be exemplified by the case of Ho Chi Minh city, to install the subway the offices had decided to remove some trees and garden in the centre and soon after, a remarkable increase in people respiratory problems were reported. After this, they have to change their plan. In sum, stuck in heavy traffic every day when travelling to work is a rising issue in many countries and the government should solve the problem by installing more public transports rather than removing the greenery. I strongly believe that the parks, gardens and trees play a vital role in both people's health mentally and physically and replacing them is unnecessary.