Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The number of foreign companies is growing in poor economic areas. Although there are advantages such as an increase in government revenue and a drop in the unemployment rate of multinational firms, on the contrary disadvantages like environmental pollution and also establishing sweat-shop, which is discussed in this essay. An increase in tax revenue is one of the biggest advantages for these global institutions. The government incomes can be increased by the value addition of tax and corporate tax collection from these big corporations worldwide, which authorities can spend on the country's infrastructural development such as roads and bridges. Furthermore, the governments' unemployment issues can be resolved by attracting investments from these global organisations. Many nations prepared a particular area to attract foreign investments. Bangladesh, for instance, is preparing 100 export processing zones to attract foreign funds, where 10 million people will be employed. On the other hand, these international institutions pollute the local environment from their production waste. Disposable-waste materials related to production pollutes water and air, which increases different health-related diseases to the local community as most global organisations do not try to clean up their manufacturing procedures. Moreover, establishing sweatshops where child labourers work at poor pay tarnish the brand image in local media of these global firms, which does not help the developing states either because of bad press. Bad press in local media of multinationals had resulted in withdrawals of business from poor economic areas. For example, the Rana Plaza building collapse incident in Bangladesh had caused many corporations such as Primark to withdraw their ties from Bangladesh, which did not help the local economy. To conclude, global organizations do help to improve the economic situation of a developing country by eliminating unemployment and lifestyles if disadvantages like environmental pollution and sweat-shop are not carefully monitored and regulated; then it could hurt the interest of the developing nations.