Many countries are spending a huge amount of money on supporting their competitors to take part in some worldwide sport competition. Others argue that it would be better if these countries can spend the money on children to take part in sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports has been a debatable perspective in this day and age. While some people assume that it is of the tremendous benefit of investing in encouraging national competitors to participate in international competitions, others think that it is of importance to allocate money to children to attend sports. From my point of view, both children and professional athletes should receive an equal investment. On the one hand, having attendants at cross-bordered competitions can have great impacts on a country’s economy. Since these games are held worldwide, which means they have influences on a mass scale, by gaining triumph, the image of them as well as the country they represent is dispersed widely among people from all over the world, attracting a wealth of foreign investors. For example, a large amount of money has been injected into Vietnam by Korean sponsors since Vietnam’s national football team attained silver medals in the AFC cup. Therefore, it is of the essence to have citizens, who are on behalf of their country, taking part in international sports contests. On the other hand, the government should also concentrate on developing sports internal infrastructures to draw more teenagers playing sports as it is crucial for the growth of a nation. Since children in this digital age spend 5-6 hours a day on watching tv, they are prone to suffer from some diseases such as cancers, which deters them from fully joint labour markets in the future and can become a burden for society. In contrast, if they engage in sports activities, they may potentially grow with strong health to accomplish their jobs and contribute to the national economy. Hence, funding sports to kindle youngsters’ interest in sports might bring a myriad of advantages for a nation. To sum up, it is indisputable that authorities should financially assist sports players to enroll in worldwide contests since they can attract a lot of sponsors. Nevertheless, they should also take care of residents’ health by funding sports for children.