"Old people are an essential part of society, so they should be respected.” How much do you agree with this opinion and why? Give reasons and examples to support your answer

Elderly people are vital to society and should be treated with respect. I absolutely agree with this because they are experienced and wise due to their huge background, but at the same time, they are vulnerable since they have passed through genuinely difficult times. Thus, they can teach young generations and share with a piece of valuable advice in terms of sport, career, or life. The community of old individuals is extremely smart and they can be compared with sages. The background they have allows them to tell instructive stories and information that can not be found on the internet. Therefore, young people have to listen to these informative stories and learn from them. For example, it is a widespread practice when veterans of the Second World War provide information about their life path, while the young ones listen to these heroes and try to comprehend every detail. This is already enough in order to make us appreciate them, since our modern society can not even imagine the amount of hardships that those legends went through by putting all of their efforts in order to overthrow fascism and establish peace on the earth. In addition, beyond those veterans, the same concept is applicable to other old individuals, since they did their maximum to preserve peace, stability and, sovereignty. Consequently, we ought to honour the older generation. Furthermore, they are essential because they can remind our society about significant values or skills from previous times. Owing to their past, we have to perceive them as role models. We are able to learn how to build relationships with partners, establish business relations, or even how to succeed in sports from them. For example, a lot of modern boxers and wrestlers invite already retired coaches in order to receive advice, because so-called old-school boxing and wrestling were extremely successful in the Olympic games. To be precise, one of the most popular MMA fighters Khabib Nurmagomedov was trained by coaches from the USSR, which brought him to the peak at every competition. In conclusion, treating elderly people with dignity is the only right option since they have gone through unimaginable difficulties during their youth. Moreover, they must be treated properly since they can share tremendously valuable information that will positively impact our present.