Many people are optimistic about the 21st century and expect scientists to make positive changes to the world. TO what extent do you agree or disagree with their optimism? What changes do you like to see in your new century?

Currently, alterations in the 21st century that were made by scientists have never failed to provoke debates among people. It is claimed that citizens should be positive regarding the favourable modifications in science to the planet. I consider myself as an advocate of this statement and an effective modification in environmental issues would be my expectation in the new century. Apparently, in the 21st century, there is a wealth of remarkable milestones in science inventions that bring positive effect in inhabitants’ life, especially in healthcare systems. Currently, the global rampant COVID-19 pandemic has caused a high death toll to a myriad of people, which is such an alarming problem for the government all around the world. However, thanks to the well-developed science technologies and enthusiastic scientists, a steady stream of methods have been successfully invented with a view to helping the world have the ability to ride out from the storm. For example, the vaccine Pfizer and AstraZeneca, which are great results of science experiments, play such a significant role in the decrease of COVID’s negative impacts on people ’s health. Due to these merits, it is understandable for citizens to hold a cheerful perspective of alterations made by scientists in the upcoming decades. On the other hand, there is a wide range of pressing issues related to environmental pollution that need to be handled to bring more green to the Earth, which is the modification that I want to see in the 21st century. Currently, this generation is considered a throw-away society since everyone tends to discard things despite their durability and usability, which leads to overloaded landfills. To alleviate this problem, people need to change their lifestyles. For example, they can switch to using reusable containers. Hence, it is necessary for people to do things that bring a harmless impact on the environment. In conclusion, even though it is reasonable for dwellers to believe in advantageous modifications made by scientists in the healthcare system of the 21st century, they should pay more attention to participate in actions that do good to the environment.