Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The goverments government enforce some restrictions on using private vehicles and trucks on particular days and in these days, people are motivated to use public transportation.In my opinion,I completely believe that the benefits of vehicle-free days interns of public transportation far outweighs any of the disadvantages it might bring. Admittedly,there are some basic demerits of banning some vehicles, such as cars,motorcycles and trucks,in the city centres in particular days. Firstly,it might compromises the convienence of travel of many. In other words,most people prefer to commute in their own cars or motorbikes and they feel discomfortable when they travel with other people in public transportations. Secondly,if it is not permitted to use own vehicles on vehicle-free days,all people will have to depend on mass transportation on those days and it could make the public transportation centres overcrowded. This also may demand more seats in buses and trains which can cause a financial burden on local authorities. Nevertheless,despite the disadvantages above,I believe vehicle-free days can bring about more significant merits. One crucial benefit is that it helps to reduce pollution in the cities,which are the most polluted areas in a country.To explain,when public transportation is encouraged instead of private,the number of vehicles on the road will definitely reduce,leading to reduction of co2 emissions and less air contamination.Another obvious benefit is that by controlling private vehicles, more people are forced to use public vehicles. This gives them an experience of travel in public transportation and if the travelers get a good impression, they will decide to use it again. For instance,most of the metro services have all the continent facilities but many people do not experienced it as the have their own car. Therefore,once they use it, they will be ready to use it even on the non vehicle-free days. To conclude,the positive outcomes of vehicle free days have more weight over the minor drawbacks of travelers in convience and crowded transportation centres on these days.