Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Parents adopt different approaches to discipline the naughty children and smacking is one of the ways. These types of parents think that giving physical punishments to a child can help them to develop good behaviour. This essay will argue that why smacking is necessary for children and should be used moderately. On the one hand, parents believe that smacking children can come in handy when disciplining them. In earlier times, in India, Brahmins' parents used to hit their sons to stop them from wandering away from their path of enlightenment which means not learning their Vedas correctly. Moreover, in schools as well, teachers use a stick to hit their student’s hands if they have done something naughty or gotten an F (fail) grade in their subject. For instance, a parent can slap them on the face to teach them about what they are supposed to do, and they are doing it in the wrong way. A recent study shows that children who used to get smacked by their parents are good members of society. Therefore, these aforementioned statements clear that why parents are in favour of using smacking in their child’s upbringing. On the other hand, parents need to see themselves so that their toddlers do not copy them in the future and should use smacking only when necessary. This means that sometimes children get too affected by their mother or father’s smacking that instead of being a good behaving child but turns into a juvenile and starts to commit petty crimes, such as stealing things from stores, from their own home, or money from their father’s pocket & wallet. Families are required to see the whole situation from a different angle and need to take their child’s feelings into considerations. This should only be utilized when it is of utmost essential. To conclude, this essay argued that why smacking needs to be used moderately so that families and children start to understand each other, and they initiate to become disciplined.