Some people think governments should make university education free, but others think students should pay fees by themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has become highly controversial regarding the post-secondary education fees. Some people hold the opinion that government should cover the tuition for students while others believe that those expenses should still be paid by students. This essay will discuss both sides and illustrate my thought. On the one hand, sponsorship from the government offers students from different classes equal opportunity to receive high-level education. It is undeniable that one’s future career path is internally related to his or her education level, and university fees are the main obstacle preventing one from pursuing their career goal. However, free university education indicates that talented and diligent individuals with terrible financial situations are also able to enter the programs matching their capabilities. Consequently, graduates with different backgrounds will achieve their life expectations and contribute positively to society with what they have learned from university, which is a mutual benefit to both individuals and society. On the other hand, asking students to pay tuition brings better teaching quality and colorful school life. As students afford the fees required by post-secondary institutes, the government can allocate the budgets originally for paying tuitions to purchasing advanced equipment or building necessary facilities like a laboratory. Those resources play a crucial role in understanding course materials and make the learning process fast and joyful. Additionally, money can also be spent on entertainment programs such as stadiums and gyms so that students are able to maintain a work-life balance, which improves learning efficiency. In my perspective, those two sides don’t conflict with each other. It is reasonable for local authorities to cover the tuition partially and ask students to afford the rest of the expenses. Therefore, it does not inflict a heavy financial burden on both students and governments. Moreover, charging students properly for university enrollment will make students cherish the opportunity to receive high-level education and ensure they spend enough time studying.