In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for government. Other people think there are benefit if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of people argue that the elderly will create benefits and drawbacks to society since in the present day people have tendencies to live longer than before. In this essay, I will elaborate on the advantages of elderly living in today’s society which override the drawbacks. I firmly believe the elderly generation will be more beneficial to society. The advantages consist of the elderly becoming a teacher to the younger generation and as the exemplar of living a healthy life. Whereas, the disadvantage of it is some elderly can not depend on themselves. In some ways, the older generation has a tendency to become a great teacher to the younger generation. In addition, the older generation has been through a lot of obstacles during their journey since they were young. Moreover, they have a broader knowledge regarding lessons which they are holding until the present day. For instance, my grandfather earned a Master’s degree from one of the United Kingdom’s institutions. He taught his grandchildren a lot of lessons including how to survive a pickpocket when we are studying abroad. Since I have never studied abroad, Hence, I need this kind of information to keep myself secure and survive in a foreign country. Furthermore, the older generation can be an exemplar to the younger generation in living a healthy life. In the present day, younger adults have a tendency to spend their free time both watching television and scrolling over a phone. Whilst, the older generation spent most of their free time doing exercise when they were young. However, besides the elderly creating benefits to society, it is believed that creates a drawback. One of the disadvantages is elderly can not depend on themselves. As people rely on others, it creates an inconvenience to both the government and the family. Additionally, as the elderly population has risen, the government has to prepare more health insurance for the elderly and also other allowances including housing allowance, transportation allowance and many more. In conclusion, the benefits of the older generation living longer are they can teach life lessons to the younger generation and the exemplar of living a healthy life. Whilst, the disadvantage is they have to rely on someone. Based on my analysis, although there is a disadvantage to society, I believe the advantages given by the elderly generation have overridden their drawbacks.