Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some People argue that both individuals and society are adversely influenced by various social networking websites to some extent. From my point of view, I completely disagree with this perspective, as even though I understand that social network sites may have some negative effects on both counterparts, while I do believe that the downsides of it are not that big and there are more benefits than its defects. Undeniably, social network sites could cause some adverse consequences. Firstly, not only children but also adults can be addicted to socializing in those virtual places, neglecting the importance of connecting people face to face. Secondly, there are hazards and dangers hidden in those attractive and tempting websites. For example, internet frauds and crimes are quite common among social networking platforms, which could largely endanger social order and social ethos. Finally, people can sometimes see some kinds of videos or comments which could impose an adverse effect on people ’s minds and values, thereby further damaging social harmony. Nevertheless, social networking websites can bring many more merits to individuals and the whole society. Primarily, they can widen the channels for people to communicate with each other more conveniently and contact people from different countries or understand the various cultures in all parts of the world with deeper insight. For instance, people can always make friends with foreigners and keep abreast of not only domestic but also international news as long as they know some foreign languages. Besides, when visiting social network sites, people can relax and relieve stress generated by troubles in work and life by simply streaming some interesting and funny videos and pictures. In conclusion, I firmly stand by that there are more advantages than disadvantages of social network sites, and people should regard them in a dialectical view.