Some people say that what individuals do to protect cannot make difference, others say that individuals can protect environment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether individuals can solely prevent the environment from being destroyed. While acknowledging that the actions of ordinary people do make a difference. I contend that the government has better shoulder this responsibility. Admittedly, normal people can have an impact on the protection of the environment. By simply advocating for the protection of the environment, these people will slowly influence their loved ones to follow suit. Subsequently, more people will start to become conscious about protecting the environment, which will possibly create a community where residents lead a green lifestyle that does not negatively affect the environment. For example, if a household starts living in an environmentally friendly way, their neighbours would likely take notice and then word would spread about this way of living, leading to more families adopting it. However, environmental issues are too complex for most people to cope with. For example, air pollution in cities such as Shanghai and New Delhi has reached such a high level that most residents are unable to go outside without facemasks, while their homes have to be fitted with air filters to allow them to breathe. Therefore, these problems cannot be solved through individual action alone but require a collective effort from both the citizens and the government. This can be done by the introduction of new policies targeting the sources of pollution like oil and energy companies, which will reduce pollution levels in cities and increase the quality of life for citizens. Furthermore, these problems can only be solved on a massive scale through government action, as issues like these require a lot of manpower and resources to resolve, while a collective effort from people around the world is also needed. In conclusion, despite the fact that individuals can protect the environment to a certain extent. I believe that the government should be the main defence against environmental problems due to the complexity of these issues and the resources needed to solve them.