Some people say that advertising encourage us to buy things we really do not need. Some others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which view point do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

According to many, adverts motivate individuals to purchase stuff that is unnecessary. Others urge that promotions provide us new items information that consumers would be unaware off without its existence. This essay moderately agrees with both views as it discusses how an advert extends the purchase of consumers; thereafter, it clarifies how public relations can assist customers to find solutions of their daily-life issues. To initiate with, promotion is one of the tools manufacturers’ use to promote their products. Most of the consumer items sales grow through adverts, which persuade the customer to purchase additional items via different offers that is not necessary. As a result, consumers purchase extra items to avail this offer. In Bangladesh, for instance, Pran is one of the largest consumer-item producers, who has doubled its sales last year from $25m to $50m through continuous advertising. Furthermore, an advert can also persuade consumers to procure luxury things, which can extend its turnover. Therefore, the promotion does influence sales growth for producers, but encourage unnecessary purchase for consumers. In contrast, public relations can also improve the lifestyles of people as it makes them aware of the facilities of a thing, which may influence their living styles. Due to this advert, people will be benefited and solved their regular life issues in real life, which can enhance comfort and reduce the time from their busy lifestyles. For example, Advert of Roti makers have created awareness among women in South Asia how to save the time of their daily life without breaking a sweat. Consequently, promotions can influence people’s lives in my view. To conclude, the promotion can increase consumption, which is unnecessary and the luxury products sales. On the other hand, adverts for a new thing definitely inform people how to improve living styles through saving time and enhancing comfort.