Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is easy to see advertisements anytime and anywhere. People have differing views about whether advertising is successful in persuading people to purchase. In my opinion, I believe the effectiveness of advertising depends on the person who watches the advertisement. On the one hand, advertising does influence people without a strong mind. With enormous attractive pictures as well as sound and appealing introductions and being displayed for thousands of times on TVs, shopping malls and even online pages, it is likely for people who cannot make up their mind to believe and have the idea of buying these products. For example, many young people tend to mortgage for buying luxury goods because they regard them as a sign of high social status, just as what the advertisements expressed, and they also believe after buying these products they will become On the other hand, it is difficult for advertising to persuade someone with firm will and have the awareness of their requirements. Rather than buying everything they want, those people have the ability to identify the things they need from things they want and try to ignore the products they do not require even if they seem attractive. They advocate the idea of minimal consumption and they feel comfortable to do in this way. Furthermore, because of the outbreak of COVID-19, the global economy has declined and the income of many families has decreased, so people endeavour to think more carefully before they buy things. In conclusion, I believe the effectiveness of advertising counts on the people who watch it, if they have mature consumption habits, it is unlikely for them to buy things blindly.