Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

Many are of the opinion that modern communication methods between people have negative implications for social relationships. Though ease of access to apps allows people to keep maintaining relationships with friends, these connections are not deep and meaningful, which highlights a more substantial drawback of using communication technology. Critics often emphasize the convenience and broader social networking facilitated by modern communication platforms. Apps such as Kakao Talk, Instagram, and Facebook, allow individuals to effortlessly keep in touch with loved ones. This is particularly beneficial for contemporary people leading a hectic lifestyle, packed with tight work schedules. Through social media such as Instagram, people can see the highlighted events of their friends, comment on their pictures, and message through Direct Messages. Beyond personal contacts, the business world also leverages communication technology in which marketers or businessmen instantly and consistently contact their customers, global clients, or other corporations to discuss a large-scale project. Such a phenomenon increases the business contact that fosters globalization. Nonetheless, these communication methods can generate superficial relationships between individuals, while reducing chances for face-to-face interaction. Paradoxically, as people “effortlessly” see photos or check the daily events of their friends on social media platforms, they increasingly become indifferent to their friends. They no longer make plans or make appointments to meet in person, preferring to talk through online chat rooms. However, there is a limitation to engaging in deep, meaningful conversations when both parties communicate through messenger apps. It is always hard to show a sense of empathy and understand their friend’s feelings and emotions through texts. Therefore, the quality of conversations tends to be shallow, making it difficult for individuals to discuss real concerns, such as life challenges, career paths, and relationships with spouses that deepen friendships. On top of this, as people can establish both romantic relationships and friendships easily through social media, they no longer value interaction as much. It is undeniably true that social media is designed to promote constant interaction between busy working people, but it paradoxically promotes shallow relationships. Individuals merely think that they can get into relationships anytime and anywhere they want without making constant efforts. Overall, this fosters a sense of isolation and emptiness, which makes the disadvantages more significant.