With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?.

Nowadays, the development of technology has resulted in a significant replacement of paper-based books with electronic books in the curriculum. Yet, there remains a controversial debate as to whether the overall efficiency of this alteration can be benevolent or it can result in excruciatingly destructive consequences. This essay will discuss this topic from both sides of view with some detailed explanations. Firstly, using e-books as a learning source can protect the ecosystem balance. This is an indisputable fact that deforestation is the worst phenomenon to supply the source of paper, which can lead to environmental degradation as well as the extinction of various living species. Furthermore, a groundbreaking survey has been carried out by Oxford university supporting the fact that more than 30% of rainforests have been completely destroyed in the last century to provide the primary materials for different products, particularly academic sources, while this has been a catastrophic outcome for the animals living in these zones since they have lost their natural habitat: also, some of these species died out since they were not able to adopt the new variations. Consequently, the role of electronic learning materials is a vital alternative that can be influential in protecting the environment. On the other hand, this advanced technology has various mental and physical ailments for the pupils. In addition, constant usage of these tools can make vision difficulties, mental ailments, and physical problems. As a salient example, the light of screen reflected on the eyes of a user has high potential in decreasing the strength of eyes in long-term periods; meanwhile, obesity and spine deformity are the most common issues resulting from this usage that can be incurable symptoms for the youngsters since they are suffering from the lack activeness. Thus, utilizing these type of books are of high significance in causing various health problems for our well-being. As a way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm that changing the structure of the educational system based on e-books can have various benefits and drawbacks for the learners; however, I strongly believe that its pros can outweigh its cons. Additionally, I recommended establishing a limited time of access to these learning sources to prevent the unwanted consequences resulting from them.