Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are those who are of the opinion that the most important environmental issue that people are confronting today is the endangerment of various species of animals and plants. However, there are those who oppose this view strongly and claim that there are more vital environmental problems that governments and individual should be focusing their attention on. Those who support the opinion that animal and plant endangerment is the most crucial environmental problem that people are now beset with point to the fact that this cause an imbalance in the ecosystem and food chain. Because of massive deforestation, indiscriminate poaching and hunting, and large-scale conversion of animal habitats into commercial or residential districts, many animals and plants nowadays are on the verge of extinction. On top of this, it does not help that people engage in such activities as illegal fishing, mining, and logging, which further reduce animal and plant populations, thereby leading to scarcity of resources, particularly the food supply, affecting not only the species in the wild but also humans in general. On the other hand, some individuals assert that other problems, including climate change, are more important matters to attend to. For one, this phenomenon can lead to more intense natural calamities and extreme or unpredictable weather conditions, including longer droughts, stronger typhoons, and heavier flooding, leading to the death of thousands if not millions of people every year. Furthermore, they say that pollution is another vital issue to tackle, for this results in both the destruction of the environment and health problems among the worldwide population. Examples of such diseases people can get from a polluted environment are respiratory conditions and cancer due to decreased air quality, ultimately taking a toll on the health, well-being, and life expectancy of people. In summary, although there are several reasons to believe that animal and plant extinction is a severe environmental problem that is faced by many today, I do not subscribe to the view that it is the most essential. From my perspective, there are other problems that need to be dealt with effectively both from the government and societal levels.