Wearing fashionable clothes is becoming increasingly common these days. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it has become increasingly common for people, especially the young generation, to show their identity through fashionable clothes. In my opinion, I believe that this latest trend has several negative consequences. One serious problem that can arise from this phenomenon is the proliferation of fast- fashion industries, which have deleterious effects on the environment. Fashion is not something that is immutable, and it changes from time to time. Therefore, many business players, who participate in the fashion industry, try to catch up with the latest mode. They have a tendency to push for mass production to meet the demand from society and maximize their revenue. Consequently, the apparel that are already outdated will only turn into waste. Another issue related to this trend is the exploitation of labourers. Still correlated with the aforementioned problem, many industries want to gain as much profit as possible. Therefore, they often use strategies to hire cheap labourers to cut down production costs. This would be a harmful action since they dehumanize people for the sake of money. For example, there are several well-known fast fashion brands that hire workers from Bangladesh and pay them a very minimum wage. Finally, trendy clothing is often associated with luxury and expensive brands, causing a bad stigma for people who do not keep up with high-end brands. This case often happens among the young generation, particularly due to their level of maturity. For example, there are several bullying cases in schools caused by this culture. If the students do not wear modish attire, they will find it hard to adapt and socialize because people often look down on them. In conclusion, although it has become more popular for people to wear contemporary fashion, it has brought about too many problems for this to be considered a positive trend.