Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. Explain the main causes of this problem, and suggest some possible solutions.

In recent years, the number of children who have become overweight has significantly increased around the globe which has several consequences for their future life. In this essay, I will discuss some major reasons of this phenomenon and put forward some viable solutions to minimize this problem. One major reason for children fatness is that, the eating habits of today’s children are more unhealthy than previous generations. To illustrate more, they tend to consume too much fast food, candy, and sugary drinks. These foods are very high in fat and sugars, but low in vitamins and minerals, which can cause kids to gain weight quickly. Another reason is that having sedentary lifestyles, modern kids tend to watch TV, surf the internet, play computer games instead of playing physical sport. As a consequence, they are becoming increasingly obese and they may have a risk of diseases such as diabetes, heart diseases etc. However, there are several steps that can be taken to combat those problems. Firstly, parents should prepare wholesome meals which are delicious and look attractive to them. To illustrate more, instead of fried food, they can use other methods of cooking like steaming or boiling. Also, school authorities could ban selling unhealthy food at school and governments should limit junk food advertising. Secondly, parents can encourage children to take regular exercise and authorities can arrange seminar to teach them about the importance of physical exercise. For example, parents could set a specific time for their kids for doing physical activity such as walking, push up etc. In conclusion, obesity mainly caused by an inactive lifestyle and eating disorders and results in acute health problems and loss of productivity. However, these problems can be overcome by changing their lifestyle and the help of the authorities.