There was a time when people only shopped out of necessity, but these days shopping seems to have become a new form of leisure activity. People don't appreciate the value of money anymore. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In this modern era, shopping has become a debatable topic to discuss. Because, in the past time, folks used to buy things only for their basic needs, whereas, in this present scenario, it has become a status symbol to purchase new items all the time without their actual need and it seems like they are neglecting the value of the currency. I personally agree with this viewpoint and will discuss my views in the upcoming paragraphs. First of all, people consider it a platform to show their class by spending dollars on clothes, shoes, electrical gadgets and many more. For example, the new generation wants to show their friend circle a high class, as a result, they put their photographs on social media very often, even though sometimes time they spend money on those things that they do not need at all. If anyone from their group shows any new thing they just want to buy the same at any cost without thinking about the importance of money. Moreover, most people do not like to wear the same clothes and footwear on different occasions,while people in previous times used to go shopping very rarely. It's like a spare time activity for the masses to go shopping in this modern age. Besides this, because of the access of online shopping sites such as Amazon,Shein it is more convenient for Youngsters to buy anything and these websites offer some deals such as big discounts or buy one get one free offer and many more that attracts individual's a lot. As a result, sometimes they spend money on unnecessary things because of these promotions. In conclusion, I would like to say that people these days are spending too many rupees for shopping without the actual need for that particular thing in comparison to the old generation.