plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, due to intense consumerism, people use tons of plastic commodities. There are various reasons behind that though, these materials are extremely harmful to nature and creatures. This essay will discuss what are the impacts of using plastic and solutions to tackle this common issue along with examples to explain further. First of all, plastic cannot be easily decompose, unlike other materials. Hence, some creatures tend to eat plastic products that are harmful to their digestive system. For instance, some birds eat polythene bags. Moreover, people tend to dispose of plastics directly into the sea since environmental scientists predict that there will be more plastics than sea creatures in the future. Besides that, plastics contain damaging chemicals which are unfavourable to plants. Therefore, farmers couldn't receive an acceptable amount of harvest after cultivating in lands where contain plastics. Second of all, the government and people can avoid this issue by taking certain types of steps. Firstly, the government should implement a few recycling plants in their country. For instance, now Sri Lankan people tend to separate their garbage into separate bins for recycling. Secondly, individuals should use alternative eco-friendly products as much as possible. To illustrate, recently an organization has introduced a metal water bottle which consists of a sensor to indicate the nearest water re-filling locations. These types of novel innovations will be allured by society. To conclude, at present factories produce plastic commodities at a rapid rate. However, the government should encourage recycling plastics rather than creating new commodities using them. Also, people should aware of to use of green products to tackle this issue. Otherwise, it will be chaos for all species and nature.