In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

The countries are changing and upgrading to new things for the betterment of their youth. In various countries, youngsters are supported and taught to work or travel for 365 days after completion of high school and before starting university studies. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of such an ideology in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, practical knowledge is found to be evident to survive in the current competitive generation. Working or travelling can provide an enormous experience of the outside world. Working for an organization can develop skills like multitasking, time management, organising and many more. In addition, people will stay connected to the updated information of different countries and they can learn new cultures from travelling to different places. For instance, if an artist travels to many places over the world. It will be helpful for him to sketch or draw new things without imagination. On the contrary, the gap in studies can result in the loss of learned knowledge in school which will need to be revised before starting university. Travelling is found to be a little addictive and people will not be fully focused on their further studies. Furthermore, it is found to be a little difficult to shift from working to pursuing further studies because once a person starts earning money their attitude towards studies gets changed. In conclusion, there are some disadvantages in encouraging the young generation to work or travel for a year between their school and university studies, however, some knowledgeable factors are important to know in life and that is covered in merits.