Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that letting children pursue education in foreign countries can contribute enormously to a nation’s development. Although I acknowledge the tremendous merits of studying overseas to a country, I think it also has certain adverse effects, On the one hand, global integration and maximization of students’ potentials, which are the effects of foreign education, is of paramount importance to the origin country. Evidently, studying abroad gives students a golden opportunity to come into contact with new cultures and lifestyles. Such interaction allows them to develop a deeper understanding of other countries, which is particularly valuable in the context of globalization and can be utilized to contribute to the growth of their homeland. For instance, an economic student who possesses knowledge about the spending habits of foreign citizens can help to improve the quality of exports to that nation. More importantly, students who study overseas are likely to be more thoroughly educated. This is because foreign education hotspots such as the US, the UK or Finland often offer well-designed syllabuses with optimal facilities which help to enhance students’ strengths and expertise. Hence, they will be of great assistance when they finish their courses and return to their home country. On the other hand, the trend of studying overseas can also hurt the origin country due to a phenomenon called brain drain. The fact is that the destinations of international students are often highly developed countries, which means that their standards of living there are likely to be significantly higher compared to the conditions at home. This creates a sense of temptation for them to stay instead of returning and making contributions to their nation. The resultant refusal to come back can damage the origin country greatly due to the loss of talents and if such a tendency continues to a greater extent, the source of high-quality labour in developing states may eventually exhaust, hindering further growth. In conclusion, while foreign education can foster global integration and hone talents for a country, it can also result in a shortage of human assets which hamper national development.