There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large one

Nuclear families are becoming more common globally. Although nuclear families struggle with no emotional support from extended family during difficult times, and no guidance to their children from the elders of the house,they will save money substantially and will be able to devote more time to their children. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family compared to a large one and also give my opinion. The principal advantage of a nuclear family is that the financial management of a house becomes more streamlined.Money earned by both partners are spent only on the immediate family and the remaining amount is saved for future use or investments. For instance,a recent survey by the Times of India reported that some banks showed increased deposits in saving account of small families. Furthermore,parents focus solely on the education and growth of children with little or no interference from other members of the extended family.In fact,it is often acknowledged that people living together interfere in each other's lives,often giving out outdated advice on parenting techniques.These experiences are paradoxically the main advantages of living in a small family. On the other hand,nuclear households are at a disadvantage compared to extended houses especially when they face difficulties in life. Although they will not be in a need of financial help, they get deprived of emotional support. This is noticeably felt when a child falls sick or meets with an accident. Moreover, children learn cultures and traditions from the elders of a family. For example,local customs and traditions to be followed on religious occasions are guided by the elders.These are the reasons why nuclear families are at a disadvantage as compared to big families. To conclude, though nuclear houses have become fashionably common in the modern world, such setup has both positive and negative points. While parents no doubt concentrate better on their children and save substantially for investments; however,lack of emotional support during difficult times and no proper guidance to children during growing years are the disadvantages in living apart from an extended family.