Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently it has been a debatable question whether countries’ economy is highly related to the length of average working time. From my perspective, although countries with longer working time could increase economy moderately, industry and agriculture are more essential and vital compared with working overtime. A great number of people advocates that working for a long period has a positive impact on economical success in plenty of nations especially developing countries. In other words, productivity will be higher if employees would like to work overtime. For instance, Japan is the third largest nation in economy after America and China. Meanwhile, the average working time in Japan in the highest in Asia, which enables Japanese citizens to get satisfying salaries. Furthermore, it has caused a dramatically economical increase in Japan since 1950s. However, in most cases, others strongly assert that there is no necessary relation between countries’ economy and a long working time. Alternatively, governments are supposed to take action to give priority to developing local manufacturing and agriculture. For example, the folks in Southeast Asia work much longer than people in West Europe; however, economy in West Europe such as France and Italy is much higher than in Thailand, Vietnam as well as Laos due to completely advanced industrial and agricultural systems. Over the period, it is not necessary for Europeans to work in a long time. To summarize, longer working time could uplift countries’ economy slowly, whereas it is not the most productive and effective method in most of countries.