Many students like to get involved in extra- curricular activities at university such as social clubs and sports. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The importance of getting involved in extracurricular activities during the educational period has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over its potential impact in recent years. In my opinion, the former perception appears more rational. This treatise will elucidate the aforementioned views in the further crumb of writing before the reasoned conclusion is reached. Analysing the statement, there exist numerous compelling reasons to consider non-academic activities are essential. Foremost among these reasons is the connection that extra school activities foster social development. To explain this, when students come in contact with each other after classes, it helps them to know more about each other and builds strong relations between them which also assists them in their future growth. For instance, it is generally seen in society that students working in groups can improve a lot in their studies by exchanging their thoughts with each other. Thus, nonscholastic activities play a vital role in the learner’s development. Furthermore, participating in sports and other activities along with academics helps pupils to develop physically as well as mentally. By playing games they instil a sense of responsibility and learn new life skills like a sense of competition and co-operation. To demonstrate this, sports aids various traits in a person’s personality. They learn how to work as a team. Moreover, they develop leadership qualities, which are crucial for their future life. Hence, sports and games give exposure to the real world to students. To recapitulate, in my opinion, student’s involvement in extracurricular activities has merits as compared to their demerits. Social clubs and sports help the overall development of students.