Some people think that it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illnesses, rather than funding the treatment for people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that allocating the public budget for ill people is not as important as encouraging them to have a healthy lifestyle to prevent diseases. In my perspective, it's better to nip the devil from the bud, so prevention is more feasible/ logical than treatment. First and foremost, a huge part of ailments can be prevented by a healthy lifestyle. Doing workouts on a daily basis, avoiding eating process foods, drinking sugary drinks and smoking play an important role in preventing illnesses. If governments spend/ invest more taxes/ budget on educating people and aware / inform them about these potential threats for their welfare, body human beings, they can save billions of dollars. Taking as an example, in my country dealing with diabetic people's costs is one of the hardest issues for the government. But by regular examination and avoiding sugary foods individuals can protect themselves from this illness. Furthermore, many maladies cannot be cured. Since lots of scientists have not found any actual remedies for abundant diseases, it is better to consider personal hygiene and a healthy lifestyle to avoid these. For example, once individuals become HIV positive, they will be infected for the rest of their lives. This is also true for other infections such as HPV positive and HBV positive. However, governments should educate people about these viral diseases, which can be prevented by following some simple protocols. Some may argue that there are so many fatal diseases with heredity causes that cannot be prevented. They think governments should have enough medical infrastructures for curing these people, however, I think if governments save finance by preventing preventative diseases, they can invest more funding on heretical diseases. In conclusion, I completely agree with investing on giving education and awareness to people to prevent illnesses, since most of the time treatments cost more and many ailments cannot be treated.