Some people believe that a person’s culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the impact of birthplace on their culture. While the country of origin would have little effect on our culture, I believe that it has more influenced by where we live. On the one hand, the birthplace would have impacts on some aspects of a person’s culture. When an individual is born in a country, some of her or his characteristics are created. Language is one of the examples that children did not be able to select from early ages. Indeed, the way they speak is determined by their birthplaces. Religion is another example of features that people could not choose themselves in their childhood. For instance, an adult girl who was born and grown in an Islamic community has to have a cover on her head in public places. Therefore, the country of origin might influence a person’s culture to some extent. On the other hand, the environment and society that someone lives in would have more impacts on their culture. Firstly, the regulations of society would affect an individual’s behaviour. For instance, a woman who has to wear hijabs would be able to wear clothes freely if she lives in another country. Secondly, the hometown customs would also affect the person’s culture. For example, if a person migrates to the Netherland, they would change the way they commute to work, riding a bicycle instead of driving their car. Finally, the people’s lifestyle could also be altered in the exposure to the new environment. In such cases, they might tend to consume more or less healthy foods. In conclusion, although the culture of people is affected by their country of origin, it seems to me that their living places have more impact on it.