Some people think that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. Other think that those who contribute to society like teachers and scientists are most successful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The definition of success can be different from one person to another. Some view that people who generates a handful of money are most successful, while others viewpoint states that success is defined by taking part in the community development, such as teachers and scientists. It is easy to say that people with a lot of money is successful because the things that they obtain can be seen and tangible. The measurement of this success, in addition, can easily be done by quantifying the items and value that the individual owns. The number of cars, for example, can be observed directly and the estimation value of it can be found by searching on the internet. People with a lot of money, furthermore, are usually in a high posistion. These ranks, thus, also can be associated with success. Academics, on the other hand, are viewed succesful due to their impact to societiy. They are praised for their dedications to the future generations through educating young childrens and the improvement of knowledge by conducting research. Technology advancement, moreover, mainly comes from academia. 4G technology, for instance, is found by a researcher in Japan. This contribution have impacted a large part of the community, and even humanity. With 4G we can access and trade information faster. In summary, two perspectives on what the definition of success in an individual is presented. Both views are valid, nevertheless, I see that there can be a middle ground in defining what success is by valuing the tangible and intangible items and impacts.