Some people believe studying in a college or university is the best way to prepare for a successful career.Other people prefer to get a job as soon as they leave scool and to develop their career through work experience. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Young people are confronted with a multitude of life-shaping decisions in their lives. Perhaps, the most critical among them is that of education. Some hold that formal education offers little to attain professional success, while others believe that the value of education in career success is irreplaceable. The way I see it, pursuing education offers more than just the hard skills you need to perform well in a job and equips one more fully to attain job success. It is certainly true that an early job gives a person an edge over their peers who first choose to go through education. Those who choose an early job immerse themselves into the work environment and have more time to learn job -specific skills and knowledge, which allow them to climb through career paths in that or another field more quickly than their peers who enter the job fresh from university. The early job option is attractive because a person is able to attain financial self-sufficiency and devote more time to enhancing the job related-competencies by working with highly qualified professionals, taking skill-specific courses and attending different professional seminars. However, the option of having access to all of these, especially to high-quality ones, is available in a limited number of situations, and thus if a young person is misled to believe that he/she can attain it, it is highly probable that he will be stuck at a dead-end job with little prospect of growth. Alternatively, young people who go through formal stages of education build a theoretical framework and a strong network of professional friends. The theoretical framework is important to join certain professions that require high levels of training such as doctors, lawyers and engineers. This framework is also critical for one to be able to create, innovate and enhance. For example, to become a good scientist it is important to understand the basic laws governing this or that field. A good physicist should understand the laws that govern physical objects both small and large. Additionally, the network that one builds while at college is hard to overestimate. It is no secret that professional success very often depends on how quickly and well you can accomplish certain tasks, tasks that become notably easier if you have connections in certain jobs or industries who are willing to give you a hand. To conclude, while first -hand, hands-on experience is invaluable, it is unrealistic for young people to pursue under all circumstances, and college offers more than the soft know-how and basic competencies, it does so at the benefit of building a network of “useful” friends who may serve you the entire duration of your professional career.