Museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not by local people. Why is this so? What could be done to encourage more local visitors? Please include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is a known fact that historical places attract a large number of foreigners,whereas, local residents find a little interest to visit them. This essay will explain two main reasons that cause this trend such as people finding it boring and the cost of entry fees. This essay will also deal with two approaches that can be adapted to attract localities to museums. First and foremost, the majority of people residing in that area do not find interest to visit them. In fact, people are already aware of their culture and tradition, and perhaps have nothing new to discover by visiting the same museum repeatedly.A tourist, on the other hand, is eager to explore new places, and historical buildings will help them to have a better understanding of the locations they are visiting. In addition, the museums charge an entry fee that could be the major factor that discourages individuals to go there. For example, if a person has visited there once, they would avoid visiting them again, because nobody wants to pay again to watch the same artwork. The government should take a couple of initiatives to attract common people to attend traditional monuments. Firstly, authorities should organize cultural events and regular exhibitions at these places to provide individuals with a new experience. Consequently, more and more people will commence attending such areas. Secondly, the administration should provide free entry pass or discounts. For instance, the majority population in India belongs to the middle class, and they cannot afford entrance tickets very often. If local authorities can provide discounts on weekends, the public will enjoy visiting traditional locations. To conclude, although, our traditional places are more interesting for foreigners, in-country people are least bothered to go there. This essay has explained two main causes for these situations including lack of new experience and the cost involved. This article also suggested two methods to attract local visitors such as conducting various events and providing discounts for tickets.