Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over the fact that as long as the police force possesses guns, it stimulates a greater degree of violence in society. While this thinking is valid to some certain extent, I would contend that arming law enforcement can do more good than harm. Obviously, it is understandable why police officers should not be equipped with guns. Firstly, it could increase the potential of miscarriages of justice and mistaken shootings of innocent civilians. Indeed, even though the legislations are put forward with a view to protecting citizens from torture or cruel treatment, if the police are armed, they also protect their rights on using guns. Furthermore, the police will be less likely to think twice before pulling the trigger when they see someone as a potentially dangerous threat. As a consequence, they can easily get away with private execution by inventing a legitimate excuse, such as self-defence; hence, the chance of shoot-out would naturally rise, causing many preventable injuries or losses of life. Therefore, it is compulsory that arming the law enforcement ought not to be applied due to some hazards it brought about. While the reasonable justifications of not arming the law-enforcement officers are widely acknowledged, it is completely comprehensible why there is a statement that those who take part in physical demanding vocations should be equipped with firearms. Evidently, in those areas where armed criminals are rampant, holding a gun stands armed police a good stead in not only protecting the public but also themselves from potential attacks. Moreover, it gives the police the leverage in their combat against criminals, especially those hardened perpetrators. For example, previously, the Norway police force was not armed with guns while doing patrols. However, after a destructive attack of the IS terrorist, this has not been the case anymore. Consequently, firearms play a paramount significant role in serving as a deterrent to would-be law-breakers. To sum up, in spite of the fact that the police force having guns can increase the violence ratio in the society by posing some dangerous threat, this action still had better be applied owing to the redeeming features it brought to the safety of those who conduct justice.