The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of areas such as fashion and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that the people’s attitude of imitating others is expressed by the growing interest in fashion or consumer goods. This essay agrees with that statement because humans want to identify themselves as a community member, and they do not like to stay behind with new trends. Firstly, being a member of society is an inborn part of people’s life. We grow up and live together as members of the groups, therefore it is a natural process that many of us will copy certain behaviours from each other. They want to feel they belong to the community and are not rejected by others, so they tend to express themselves by purchasing the same types of devices. For example, many teenagers acquire similar smartphones in order to be considered as a person that follows trends and will not be excluded from the closed circle of friends. Secondly, humans are competitive creatures who have a desire to possess similar or better gadgets than our friends; People buy similar brands of clothes or purchase nice looking cars just to show they deserve someone’s attention. This trend is rapidly growing, but it is present in our culture for generations. For instance, if someone at work bought a brand new pair of shoes, many colleagues will notice and consider purchasing a similar pair for themselves to not be left out. To conclude, people are coping and following others because they feel an internal pressure to model themselves as a member of a particular group, and many of them do not want to be treated as a stranger by not showing interest in the latest trends.