Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree with these views? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, business people take good advantages by creating too many advertisements for consumer goods in order to increase their sales. Advertisements have the power to attract more and more people to purchase the goods despite their needs. I partially agree with these views with minor disagreements. This essay will discuss the topic in detail. First and foremost, the sellers manage to make high revenues by just advertising their products with attractive images. For example, children’s products such as toys are shown in a very creative way with colourful pictures of the items. As a result, the compelling looks of the products influence parents to purchase those toys for their kids despite the expensive prices and sometimes the items are not even useful for their children. Therefore, the sales for the products dramatically increase. On the other hand, not everyone is influenced by good advertisements. It is undeniable that purchasing things are completely their choice. Advertisements could not cause changes to their buying habits. To illustrate, even if the advertisements displayed are high in quality, they often think twice about whether the items are necessary for their daily needs before purchasing them. Even though it is inevitable for them to come across appealing commercials, their extreme level of self-control lead them to make proper consideration before deciding to invest. To conclude, it is certainly true that the sellers make good money from different kinds of unique advertisements. However, some people know exactly what they want and what are unnecessary items that they should not purchase in spite of eye-catching advertisements.