Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether the principal issues in recent years are the extinction of some species of animals and plants or significant threats to the environment. While the loss of animals and plants is a serious problem, I would lean towards the latter opinion. I believe that climate change is the most disastrous issue for humanity and the earth. On the one hand, many individuals believe that disappearing particular plants and animals on the earth can impact our lives drastically. For example, when a type of vegetation disappears, an array of insects and birds that were fed on that plant will die out. consequently, the food chain is destroyed, and due to the lack of enough food we will end up with famine. These days, a wide range of wildlife animals are endangered by extinction. As a result, many dangerous animals that will be eaten by disappeared species, and are hazardous to humans' lives will emerge. On the other hand, in recent years we have encountered climate change and its detrimental impacts which threaten the chance of survival on the earth for all species. Firstly, extreme weather due to climate change such as hurricanes, floods, and tsunamis destroys many rural areas especially coastal areas, and financial loss. For instance, global warming causes the retreating of natural glaciers, and then the altitude of the seas and the oceans increases, so people who live in coastal areas lose their homes. Moreover, global warming increases the rate of evaporation and we will face a shortage of water in the near future. Thus, the earth will no longer be a decent place for life as it will turn into a desert. In conclusion, in my opinion, climate change can affect our lives negatively in a way that cannot be compensated, and even threaten the lives of animals and plants on the earth.