The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversy heating a debate over the fact that the authorities should use the funding for medical research to protect inhabitants’ health in lieu of protecting the environment. In my opinion, both issues need equal attention since they all directly affect human well-being. Undisputedly, the government should spend money on the healthcare system since it plays such a paramount significant role in a whole community. Currently, dwellers all around the world are coping with a wealth of dangerous pandemics which could pose a threat to their health. Covid-19 can be cited as an example, it is a virus that does great harm to patients' lung and causes high death toll around the world in only two years. Although a frenzy of doctors and scientists have researched to find a way to eliminate it, there is still no specific medicine to treat this virus. Hence, it is necessary for the authorities to pay more money on medical research to protect people’s health. Although the essence of raising healthcare system quality is widely acknowledged, lacking the attention in protecting the environment acts as a huge con to human’s health. Apparently, there is a wide range of health -related issues caused by environmental pollution. For example, the widespread use of fuel-powered vehicles in Vietnam causes a frenzy of serious air pollutants which lead to lung cancer and alleviate the respiratory systems of citizens. Due to these drawbacks, it is crucial for the government to use the funding to protect the environment. In conclusion, I contend that both medical research and environmental protection play such a vital role in human well-being so the government should spend equal money on them.