Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that the mature enjoy using their leisure time playing video games. There are numerous reasons for them to choose this kind of entertainment, and I believe this development brings more benefits to both players and society. The trend of playing computer games connects tightly with the improvement of games themselves, and the stress in adulthood. There are more games released every year, and they are fitting everyone’s preference. The gaming industry has evolved and birthed different kinds of games from shooting, horror games to family-friendly such as puzzle games that can be found easily on the internet. Thus, it is not difficult for adults to find what might interest them. Another cause that leads to playing video games in adult groups is how stressful being a grow-up. People must work 9 to 5, and after exhausting work, playing video games is affordable and convenient. As for the consequences of playing video games, there are two perks that people cannot ignore. First, it is a cheap way to release the stress for players, and a good way to have social connections with friends around the world. Online video games are no doubt entertaining, and people could use the gaming platform to interact with others far away. Thus, making it a relevant choice in spending free time. Another positive effect of fashion is boosting the economy. The development of gaming could bring more work to people in this area, reducing the unemployed rate in the technology field. Hence, the result of playing video games might benefit society. In conclusion, computer games are the choice of leisure of many adults in present. The causes of this trend are based on the advancing of technology and the pressure of adulthood. Because of the mentioned fashion, positive results can be found in not only players’ mental and social health, but also the economy of the gaming industry.