Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is clear that the recent debate on the coexistence of modern communications and paper letters does not seem to come to an end any time soon. Although modern communications do have certain implications on the status quo and current lifestyle, the impact on writing letters appears insignificant. On the one hand, the advances in communication technology have had an influence on the quality of transmission. First, digital devices have the capability to embed rich media content, they allow users to transfer and exchange information in a detailed and lively way. For instance, people can conveniently send texts with various formats, audio and video through applications such as email in just a few minutes which are substantially less time-consuming than sending letters. Second, receivers are likely to easily read and comprehend as there are numerous tools supporting senders to create and edit content. This will ensure that the conveyed contents are more eye-friendly and professional, which is highly beneficial for users, especially in product marketing. On the other hand, these developments can transmit a great quantity of information. First, since the keyboard has the word prediction program, typing seems to be much faster than writing by hand. In fact, we sometimes can merely copy and paste texts regardless of how many words it contains. In addition, chatting applications like Whatsapp, Messenger are capable of storing a large amount of contact information, they allow users to send multiple receivers at a time. Therefore, corporations should take advantage of this feature to widely advertise their products to a thousand customers in one click. In conclusion, the development should be embraced because of its overwhelming advantages. It not only benefits delivering messages in high quality but also high quality as well.