Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

In societies today, it appears that competitiveness is not only a positive quality but also a way of life. In every aspect of our daily lives, regardless of age, sex or status, we are all competing in one way or another. As a result, having a competitive attitude is seen as a positive quality as it gives the individual an advantage over others in life. However, competitiveness can affect individuals for the worse as well as the better; after all, if there are winners, there have to be losers. It is an undeniable fact that life is a competition. It is a race that starts before we are even born 一 millions of sperm compete to be the first to reach and fertilize the egg. After birth, we all then compete to establish our foothold in society. From an early age, we compete in forms of exam results, sports competitions and even compete with each other in forming social bonds in friendship or love. This continues into adult life where competition shifts its focus to wealth, prosperity and family. It is obvious to see why, in modern society, being competitive is a positive quality. It seems that in order to achieve these fundamental goals of life we have to outdo one another. Having a competitive edge will drive the individual further in achieving these life goals and therefore more likely in actually attaining them. However, competitiveness can affect the individual in a negative way. Continuously being in the mindset of competing, needing to come first or having to win at all costs means that when a loss does occur it could be psychologically harmful. To the individual, it will make them feel as if they are not good enough, knowing others are better and could lead to depression, lack of confidence or even self-loathing where the individual believes that they are just not good enough. Ultimately, competitiveness is necessary in modern society in order for the individual to succeed. It is neither a positive nor negative quality but rather a necessary quality that we all need to have. However, an overly competitive attitude can be harmful and so it is important that, whilst keeping a competitive attitude, expectations need to be managed. In every competition, the losers outnumber the winners and so we must all expect to lose sometimes.