Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living. What is your opinion about this? What other time in history would be interesting to live in?

There are huge changes in human beings’ lives compared with the past so it is prevailing to say that this is the best era to live in. From my perspective, I agree with the statement because several aspects of life are improved. In this essay, I will explain my idea with examples. Compared to the past, advances in medical treatments and new drugs have allowed people to live longer and healthier lives. The rapid pace of scientific and technological development have propelled medicine researches and treatment devices in a new era, which has diminished some threaten diseases. For instance, deadly smallpox which caused half fatality had been completely contained by vaccination. Additionally, most people can receive proper education and find decent jobs no matter their races and religions today. This was unbelievable in the previous century, especially for American black people who were enslaved and uneducated under horrible living conditions. However, if I had the chance to select another period of time in history to live in, I would choose the Renaissance in Europe because it was one of the most significant movements in science, history, culture and policy. Renaissance brought human beings new discoveries in technology, new art forms in painting and sculpture and exploration of distant lands, and much of these were based on humanism which emphasized human ability and power rather than the will of God. In my opinion, it would be a huge pleasure if I could witness the whole process of the changes and learn from the past. In conclusion, I believe that people are living in a wonderful period of time today with all the efforts humans made from the past.