In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Truth be told, in several countries, young adults opt for staying in their parents ’ house instead of moving out even after they have already finished their colleges and started to work. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages. The option to continue to live with the parents is advantageous to some extent. Firstly, this could help young people to save the cost of living. When the adults get the jobs and decide to move out, they will have to earn and save enough money to cover their basic needs such as paying the bills or renting the houses. Living in the parents ' houses gives the young people the opportunity to live in modest comfort without paying the expensive living cost. As a result, the young could save the money for larger purposes such as getting married or starting a home of their own. Secondly, people can take care of their parents. In some households, for example, elderly parents having serious illness might find it difficult to live by themselves. As their kids, young adults need to stay in the same house with their parents. Despite the arguments above, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Although young people can benefit from continuing to live at home with their parents, they will not know how to manage their independent lives. If the adults depend largely on their mothers and fathers, they will not have any responsibilities in the houses, which can have a harmful impact on people ’s later lives when they raise a family or have kids, for example. In addition, parents may feel the burden of taking care of their young adult children. Older parents get tired easily which can restrict their enjoyment and participation in parenthood. In conclusion, although living in the same house with the parents might benefit the young people, it seems to me that the disadvantages are more significant than the possible advantages.