Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them ?

In the modern day, while education has become more accessible, many grown adults are still unable to either read or write. In this essay, I will elaborate on the disadvantages which they can incur in their lives and what measures the government can carry out to remedy their difficulties. To begin with, there are several drawbacks for illiterate adults in daily life. For one, these individuals are likely to fall prey to fraudulent activities. This is because they are highly dependent on others when working on personal paperwork. Therefore, should these helpers want to take advantage of and financially exploit them, they may hardly be aware of it. Secondly, another problem that they can face is difficulty in finding jobs. That is, literacy has become one of the most basic skill requirements in various companies as without it, for example, it is almost impossible for employer to train and improve their employees. Thus, most companies will undoubtedly be reluctant to give the illiterate a chance of employment. On the other hand, there are also some solutions that can be implemented to relieve this issue. Firstly, the government should create more motivation and opportunities for the illiterate. This can be done through specially designed classes which can help them become aware of how disadvantaged they are without literacy and, simultaneously, teach them basic reading and writing skills. Moreover, in order to reduce the rate of fraud, the local authority should establish departments to particularly support the illiterate in their paperwork. To be more specific, staff in these departments can, for instance, read aloud the summarized terms in contracts or check whether the paper is in accordance with the will of the illiterate party. In conclusion, without literacy, disadvantages in terms of employment and paperwork are easily foreseeable. However, by means of the aforementioned solutions, the authorities can provide significant help for the illiterate and effectively improve their life.