◼️As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is agreed that businesses are here to not only make money but also to fulfil their social responsibilities. Therefore, commerce that focuses only on growing its profits is neglecting the wellbeing of its employees. Thereby, businesses should develop strategies to produce a positive impact not only on their staff but also on their community. We will talk about the social impact businesses can have. A workforce that is well looked after, and has its needs covered is more productive. For example, an employee with medical insurance provided by the employer does not need to worry about paying for medical bills and consequently will be less stressed at work. It follows that they will be completely focused on their tasks, hence their productivity will improve. This means that by looking after their employees, businesses owners create a positive environment that fosters success and wellbeing. Big corporations take up resources that otherwise belong to the communities. Moreover some of the said resources used to belong to the local population. For instance, there are beer factories in Mexico that take up to 80% of the drinking water in the community. Unless the companies make an effort to give back to the people they are undoubtedly abusing not only the natural resources but the population as well. Rather than focusing on making more money, businesses must ensure they give back to the local folk. In conclusion, it is completely agreed that big corporations must be socially responsible and have well-established strategies to give back to the population that is buying their products. Furthermore, consumers have the power to stop companies who are not socially responsible, thus they should make smart decisions when choosing a product. Nonetheless, legislation is needed to ensure international business owners meet their social responsibilities.