Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems. To what extend do you agree or disgree with this statement?

Nowadays, many people choose to leave their homelands to work as ex-pats or live as immigrants in another country. Therefore, they need to cope with new cultures, new people and use new languages other than their mother tongue. Despite various linguistic problems they may have to face, it is only the minor troubles, and everyone can overcome them sooner or later. On the one hand, it is undeniable that using a foreign language has never been easy, especially when people live in a new country, surrounded by ones who speak a different language. Many linguistic problems may happen, some seem severe, and some may only be practical problems. For instance, if one does not have a standard language level, he cannot understand what others are saying. As a result, he cannot work or study effectively and ends up feeling useless and isolated. That is serious trouble. Another example is when people cannot express their ideas adequately, others can misunderstand their intentions and exacerbate situations. On the other hand, it is supposed that everyone has to acknowledge the importance of learning new languages before immigrating to other countries. Therefore, they should be well prepared and need to achieve a proper level. In that case, they can surpass all linguistic problems above. Indeed, if individuals can manage the issue of languages, they can take it as their advantage and leverage their endeavour at a global scale. For example, many top managers of large enterprises in Vietnam are ex-pats from Western or Middle Eastern countries. In conclusion, the language barrier is the first challenge that people face whenever they migrate to a new country. However, mastering a new language is attainable and can open a variety of opportunities in life.