Around the world, the rich are becoming richer and poor are becoming poorer. What is the cause of this? What solutions are there to tackle it?

In different counties around the globe,it is a common notion that while poor people are getting poorer, the rich are accummulating more wealth.There are several reasons for this. On the side of the wealthy can include factors such as investing in the best education,willingness to take risks,hard work and inheritance just to mention a few. On the other side, having brilliant ideas yet lacking the means and connections to bring them to live, as well as poor infrastructure can greatly affect the poor, hence, further reduction in wealth. This essay would discuss these reason in more detail with relevant examples. In the world of today, education is key. The better your eductaion, the greater the chances of securing a huge payng job. High quality eductaion does not come cheap as only the rich can afford to send their children to such schools. Access to these sort of eductaion puts people with wealth ahead of the poor in life. For example, a distant relative who sat for an entrance into one of the best schools in Nigeria and obtained a very high score could not secure an admission simply because his parents did not have the funds to pay for it. One way to tackle this problem would be for Governments around the world to regulate the cost of education while ensuring that entrance into schools should be solely on merit and not how much money one has. By doing this, everyone has equal opportunities to excel. Furthermore, lack of infrastructure such as good roads, electricity and water can tremendously affect the poor trying to increase their living standard eventhough the have briliant ideas. For example, In a town in South Sudan where majority of people are traders, the delapidated roads makes it difficult for people to go to the markets and sell their goods to make a living. Some end up staying at home and relying on hands outs to survive. This can be solved by people in authority taking appropriate steps to build infrastructure to enable the poor thrive. In conclusion, the discrepancy between the standard of living of the rich and poor is a cause for concern and if not taken care of would get out of hand. While the government has a big part to play in resolving this, other non-governmental bodies can assist as well to ensure a balance.