Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, using smartphones is an inseparable part of our lives, particularly for children. Some of them spend hours daily on their digital gadgets. I believe this can be a positive development if there are some restrictions and proper training. The family environment is one of the first reasons for this phenomenon. More working parents and fewer family moments make children spend more hours alone, so they fill their time with their smartphones. Instead of gathering together or playing outdoors with peers, they communicate with each other online. Moreover, homework and school projects could be another reason why young ages individuals spend their time using digital gadgets. Today, online data such as e-books, learning applications, educational websites, etc… are very popular among them. However, the correct method of using the Internet should be taught in schools. On the other hand, tech companies invest greatly in the gaming industry. High graphic designs and attractive visual effects fascinate children to play these games regularly. Although some of them are practical for young ages people, they can teach them many things such as colour diagnosing, basic mathematics, focus and concentration, dictation, etc…. But these hours that are spent should be limited and monitored by parents. Spending too much time playing games or surfing the Internet without control would affect badly on both their bodies and minds. Inactivity and increasing violence are two examples of these effects. In conclusion, I think this happening has both positive and negative effects, but it can turn into a positive development if it is taught and controlled by parents and teachers simultaneously.