According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

The world around us today is opening up, thanks to technology. While the advancement of technology is a welcomed development as it has enhanced our lives in several ways, such as allowing us to communicate with folks in other parts of the world and learning different cultures, it also has its downsides. Research has shown that individuals are spending enormous time on the internet rather than with real human beings. I agree that the time spent on the internet is a cause for concern as it is affecting human relations and interactions negatively. This essay would explain my opinion in more detail. The dawn of technology has opened people up to opportunities that were never possible. For example, people can now do business with different persons around the world without being physically present and also with websites like amazon,we no longer need to travel far distances just to buy goods. With just a click of the finger, goods can be quickly delivered to anywhere around the globe. The internet also has social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram which allows us to communicate with others despite their location. We also get to learn the ways of life of other communities. While all this sounds interesting, places like social media platforms can be said to have taken over the lives of many. People, especially young adults spend a lot of time surfing the internet, chatting with people they do not know and may never meet thereby leaving little or no time to their immediate society. Human relationship is very important as it helps reduce loneliness and boredom. Spending time with people makes them feel loved and welcome. For example, in 2016 when I visited Lagos, a state in the country Nigeria. Some communities organised social events where young people spent time with the elderly, giving them support and helping them out with chores. This was stopped due to the fact that the turn out of young people was reduced, hence leaving the older ones to cater for themselves and lonely. To conclude, even though the internet has numerous benefits and has affected our lives positively, the negative aspects of it is gradually eating deep into our society as people are spending too much time on it. I am of the opinion that if this is not dealt with immediately may damage our world even further.